Fortnite will be joining the Australian Open with the Summer Smash tournament on January 27, and some of the best pro players will be competing!

Australian residents have the chance at taking home $100,000 for claiming first place in the solo tournament.

There will also be a Pro-Am event that will feature local Australian stars and international Fortnite personalities.

The first event will take place at the Margaret Court Arena, just before the men’s Australian Open tennis final.

Here is everything you need to know about the Summer Smash:

Who will be there?

A handful of international Fortnite personalities have already been announced including Ben ‘DrLupo’ Lupo, Rachel ‘Valkyrae’ Hofsetter, Vikram ‘Vikkstar123’ Barn, and Rober ‘MrWoofless’ Latsky.

Some Australian personalities who will be in attendance include Elliot ‘Muselk’ Watkins, Kathleen ‘Loserfruit’ Belsten, Harley ‘Mrfreshasian’ Campbell, Lannan ‘LazarBeam’ Eacott, and Lachlan ‘Lachlan’ Power.

How can you watch?

If you are in Australia, you can still attend the event as there are still tickets on sale for the Summer Smash.

For the fans who can not attend the live event, there will be a stream available on the official Australian Open Tennis Twitch channel.

What is the format?

The Summer Smash event will follow the same format as previous Fortnite LANs.

There will be six total matches players for the solo portion of the tournament.

The scoring format will be as followed:

  • Victory Royale: +3 Points
  • 2nd-3rd Place: +2 Points
  • 4th-10th Place: +1 Point
  • 3-4 Eliminations: +1 Point
  • 5-6 Eliminations: +2 Points
  • 7+ Eliminations: +3 Points

What is the prize pool?

Whenever there is an official Fortnite tournament, the prize pool is always large enough to make anybody drool.

The prize pool for the solo and Pro-Am tournaments are impressive in their own right.

Here is the prize pool for the solo event:

  • 1st place – $100,000
  • 2nd-3rd place – $50,000
  • 4th-6th place – $25,000
  • 7th-10th place – $5,000
  • 11th-15th place – $3,000
  • 16th-20th place – $2,000
  • 21st-100th place – $1,000

The prize pool for the Pro-Am tournament goes towards charitable foundations:

  • 1st place – $50,000
  • 2nd-3rd place – $20,000
  • 4th place – $10,000

When does it start?

The Grand Finals for the solo event start at 10 am Australian local time.

The Pro-Am tournament will begin after the solo event has concluded.

Here is a list of converted times for those in different time zones:

  • GMT- 5:30 am
  • EST- 12:30 am
  • CST- 11:30 pm
  • PST- 9:30 pm
  • AEDT- 4:30 pm

Are you excited to see the start of competitive Fortnite in 2019?

comments below