Connect with us

Esports

Fortnite Season 3 FNCS: dates, broadcast, Twitch Drops & more

Here’s how to watch the Fortnite Season 3 FNCS Solos competition and earn in-game cosmetics while doing it.

Published

on

The Fortnite Season 3 FNCS Solos competition is ready to kick-off in a couple of weeks, which means more competitive Fortnite for us to enjoy. Participants are still practicing and grinding their way to Champion League while viewers wait for the official broadcasts to return.

Here’s everything you need to know about viewing the Season 3 FNCS including the schedule and Twitch Drops you can earn, simply by watching the event.

Programming schedule

The official Fortnite Champion Series broadcasts are coming back as soon as the first week of qualifiers begin. These run the weekend of August 1 and August 8, with the finals taking place on August 14-16. The broadcast schedule for each event appears to be the same. Here’s a breakdown of the time for each broadcast:

  • 12:00pm EST (9am PST, 5pm BST) – Broadcast Begins 
  • 12:15pm EST – Live EU coverage 
  • 3:30pm EST (12:30pm PST, 8:30pm BST) – Break
  • 5:00pm EST (2:00pm PST, 10:00pm BST) – Broadcast returns
  • 6:15pm – (3:15pm PST, 11:15pm BST) – Live NA-East coverage 
  • 9:30pm EST (6:30pm PST, 2:30am BST) – Approximate end

Epic are only hosting official broadcasts for the EU and NA-East regions of the FNCS. These are, largely, considered to be the most popular and “stacked” regions in Fortnite, although you can undoubtedly find unofficial broadcasts of other regions on Twitch and YouTube. You can tune in through the official Fortnite Twitch and YouTube channels.

Twitch Drops

Like last season, viewers of the event will have the chance to earn Twitch Drops in the form of two new emotes and a spray. To be eligible, all you have to do is link your Twitch and Epic accounts before the event begins. After that, all you have to do is tune in and watch one of the participating channels.

The official Fortnite broadcast will have Twitch Drops enabled, but so will several other participating streamers. You can expect people like EmadGG, Tfue, and many others to have Drops enabled, so you can watch however you want. You can even mute the official Fortnite broadcast tab if you want to watch a non-participating streamer.

That should be everything you need to know about viewing the Fortnite Season 3 FNCS. Of course, we’ll keep you updated with all of the biggest news coming out of the FNCS and will be among the first to have the results when we crown a new champion. Enjoy!

Guides

How to disable pre-edits in Fortnite

After over a year of fan requests, Epic have added a ‘disable pre-edit’ option to Fortnite. Here’s where you can find it.

Published

on

In the v15.20 update, Epic Games added a much-requested setting to Fortnite: ‘disable pre-edits.’ Here’s how it works and how to select it.

Finally, after years of Reddit threads, Twitter posts, and pro players begging, Epic added a ‘disable pre-edit’ setting to Fortnite.

Here’s everything you need to know about the new setting, including how it works and where to find it.

What does ‘pre-editing’ mean?

Pre-editing refers to the ability to edit a structure before placing it. The most popular use of pre-edits throughout Fortnite history was a cone/ramp edit when controller players had to use Combat Pro.

Now, however, very few players use pre-edits. Instead, pre-edits offer an obstacle, as they’re almost always completed by mistake. Of course, there are still some niche applications for pre-edits, but most players wanted Epic to add an option to disable these edits.

How to disable pre-edits

You can find the new option under the settings tab (cog wheel) in the start menu. Scroll down to the “Building” section, and you’ll see four options. One of them is the new “Disable Pre-Edit Option.”

If you turn this off, you’ll no longer be able to edit structures before placing them – good news for the bulk of the Fortnite community.

If may have taken Epic years to add this option, but it’s finally here. Next stop, an FoV slider!

Continue Reading

Tips

How to use pre-editing to your advantage in Fortnite

Don’t turn off pre-edits so fast! Learn how to make pre-edits work for you in Fortnite with these new competitive strategies.

Published

on

Learn how to make pre-edits work for you in Fortnite with these competitive strategies.

Pre-edits in Fortnite can be maddening when you’re in the middle of a fight. More often than not, the pre-edits will work against you as you accidentally edit a hole in your floor or a window in your wall. Before you know it, you’re taking fall damage or getting shot because you hit the wrong button while battling someone.

Epic recently added a lon-requested setting to Fortnite, giving players the ability to toggle pre-edits on and off. Now, with a simple setting change, you’ll never need to worry about pre-edits again.

This doesn’t mean that pre-edits are entirely useless. In the patch before the setting change was released, pro player Maken used them expertly to outplay his opponent.

Useful pre-edits have also been posted to the r/FortniteCompetitive subreddit in the past. These pre-edits focus on cones, and give players the ability to fake-out opponents and even place their structures through turbo-builds.

The first strategy involves subverting the expectations of your opponent. Most skilled players anticipate edits, but using a pre-edited cone can get you a free shot.

As you can see, all you have to do is edit the wall, place your triangle cone, resent the cone edit, and shoot your opponent. There’s hardly anything they can do to prevent this free shot – especially since they aren’t going to see it coming.

The above clip from u/DemianNieuwenhuis has a very niche application. After all, using a regular cone is going to be far more useful in most situations. The only time your pre-edited cone will work is when someone is standing outside of your box.

This next clip is more of an exploit than anything. It also requires you to pre-edit your cone; this time in a V shape. You can exploit the new Turbo Building system and place the V-cone under your opponent’s ceiling after breaking their cone.

Again – like the other clip – this strategy will only be useful in certain situations. You won’t be able to cone-block opponents or even protect yourself from above if you run around with your cones all jacked up like this.

Still, these strategies are worth mentioning – especially if you find yourself in a 1v1. You can surprise your opponent with both of them, and steal some shots without taking damage.

Continue Reading

Guides

Fortnite split-screen: how to play with friends

Epic introduced the ability to play split-screen Fortnite in Chapter 2 Season 1. Here’s how to enable the setting.

Published

on

Epic introduced the ability to play split-screen Fortnite back in Chapter 2 Season 1. Here’s how to enable it so you can play locally with a friend.

Fortnite has always had a focus on playing with friends, but that always meant you had to play online. Even if you were in the same house as your friend or family member, the two of you had to play on two separate devices.

This changed back in the v11.30 update in Chapter 2 Season 1. Epic introduced split screen capabilities on consoles for the first time. It wasn’t perfect when it first came out, but it’s since gotten a lot better.

How to use the Fortnite console split-screen feature

Initiating split-screen is simple. All you have to do is connect two controllers to your Xbox or PlayStation. Split-screen still isn’t available on mobile, PC, or Nintendo Switch. Here are the steps you need to follow:

  1. Start Fortnite
  2. Connect a second controller to the console and turn it on
  3. Hit ‘Main Menu’
  4. Player 1 will need to invite Player 2 with their Epic account
  5. Player 2 will need to sign into their account
  6. Player 2 will join and split-screen will automatically initiate

You can even save another player’s information on another account on your console, making split-screen easier and quicker to complete.

The feature still isn’t perfect and doesn’t replace the feeling of playing online. You’ll only have access to half of your screen, so you’re going to miss a few things that normal players will see. Still, playing split-screen is far more preferable than switching off with your friend or family member game after game. Enjoy!

Image Credit: Epic Games/u/SmonkYT

Continue Reading